top of page

Glitch Out - 2D Concept



This is my concept drawing for my VR senior thesis. In the beginning, we are aiming for the retro chunky funky Sci-Fi concept, so we had a bunch of prop designs and environment designs that are Sci-Fi, but with a lot of humors inside.



Character Concept

P13 is a player character, but you will only see the hand because it is VR. The concept for this robot is old technology. To show old technology, I got most references from retro robots, Wall E, and Baymax's rubber arm.



Computer Concept

This was my central asset for my environment and I want to give some stroytelling onto the asset that a person who uses this machine is nerd and chill. Because of that, I added googly eye, a small hat, and stickers on the side. However, because it doesn't match with other environments and my central asset has changed, I need to get rid of all the decoration on the computer later.



Glue Blaster Concept

This is an attachment for the blow torch. I tried to give funky feeling with stylized shape. I got most references from Ratchet & Clank because the game has the most funky stylized Sci-Fi design.



Original Engineer's room Concept (Now it is server room)

This is my original engineer room concept for my environment. I choose this concept because my area is the tutorial area and I think it is the best to teach players in small area. Because it is the smallest area, I paid attention to set dressing details like dirty bed, pizza box, book design, and posters that shows background story. However, the concept changed after I got an suggestion from a professor and it became server room that connected to everywhere.



Prop and Modular Kits Concept

These are props and modular kits concept for props, I tried to play with storytelling like my environment like dirty trashcan and weird monster refridge.

bottom of page