top of page

Glitch Out VR (Senior Thesis)


This is my senior thesis for the VR game. I used Maya, substance painter, substance designer, and UE4 to create the scene. I am responsible for all assets in the scene, some materials, and set dressing for these scenes. The game is still in the development process. There are some shader examples that I made for this project.


This are two trim sheets that I made mainly for modular kits on the wall, ceiling, floor, etc. I had a problem with making wall modular kits because of the irregular space that cannot be built with modular kits and I need to find a way to reduce draw calls instead of bake all environment.


To create this trims, I worked on Maya to create the 3d version of trim wall that costs nearly 10k tri and bring it into Substance Painter and baked them into a plane. After this part, I created UVs based on these textures.


The first trim sheet is focused on walls because the deadline was coming pretty early and I need to find an easy way to solve the wall set-dressing problems. Even though it was made for walls, it can be separated into several pieces like pipes, different wall types, and bottom wall decals. The second trim sheet is made for various kits like ceiling and floor. For the second one, I had more time to think about which part do I need to work.

I had a premade material instance that was made for baked textures and it works on trim sheets too. After UV part, it was easy to put it on all the meshes.

This is a painted material that I made for teammates who needed this material. In the end, I didn't use this material because it is vertex color material that is expensive and it didn't fit in my environment. I also made parameters for this material.

For vertex color, I used weight paint because I only need two materials and weight paint is an easy way to paint it. For the threshold, I used a channel packed noise mask with several functions like add and multiply to increase the contrast amount and lerp it on all channels.

This is a parameter for painted metal.

This material is for cable materials. I made this material because I thought there must have a lot of different types of cables and it requires creating many cables that might cause a lot of draw callsthe . For cables, I made cable mesh tools in Houdini. You can check more information on this page. In Unreal Engine, I used TenLayerBlend node to create a material parameter. The red channel is for energy light, Green for Metal, Blue for Plastic, and Alpha for two titanium textures. I made two titanium textures from Substance Designer.



bottom of page